Open Exhibition 2017: I must down to the seas again

4 August - 22 September FREE

Exhibition

  • Fri 4 Aug at 10.00AM
  • Sat 5 Aug at 10.00AM
  • Sun 6 Aug at 10.00AM
  • Mon 7 Aug at 10.00AM
  • Tue 8 Aug at 10.00AM
  • Wed 9 Aug at 10.00AM
  • Thu 10 Aug at 10.00AM
  • Fri 11 Aug at 10.00AM
  • Sat 12 Aug at 10.00AM
  • Sun 13 Aug at 10.00AM
  • Mon 14 Aug at 10.00AM
  • Tue 15 Aug at 10.00AM
  • Wed 16 Aug at 10.00AM
  • Thu 17 Aug at 10.00AM
  • Fri 18 Aug at 10.00AM
  • Sat 19 Aug at 10.00AM
  • Sun 20 Aug at 10.00AM
  • Mon 21 Aug at 10.00AM
  • Tue 22 Aug at 10.00AM
  • Wed 23 Aug at 10.00AM
  • Thu 24 Aug at 10.00AM
  • Fri 25 Aug at 10.00AM
  • Sat 26 Aug at 10.00AM
  • Sun 27 Aug at 10.00AM
  • Mon 28 Aug at 10.00AM
  • Tue 29 Aug at 10.00AM
  • Wed 30 Aug at 10.00AM
  • Thu 31 Aug at 10.00AM
  • Fri 1 Sep at 10.00AM
  • Sat 2 Sep at 10.00AM
  • Sun 3 Sep at 10.00AM
  • Mon 4 Sep at 10.00AM
  • Tue 5 Sep at 10.00AM
  • Wed 6 Sep at 10.00AM
  • Thu 7 Sep at 10.00AM
  • Fri 8 Sep at 10.00AM
  • Sat 9 Sep at 10.00AM
  • Sun 10 Sep at 10.00AM
  • Mon 11 Sep at 10.00AM
  • Tue 12 Sep at 10.00AM
  • Wed 13 Sep at 10.00AM
  • Thu 14 Sep at 10.00AM
  • Fri 15 Sep at 10.00AM
  • Sat 16 Sep at 10.00AM
  • Sun 17 Sep at 10.00AM
  • Mon 18 Sep at 10.00AM
  • Tue 19 Sep at 10.00AM
  • Wed 20 Sep at 10.00AM
  • Thu 21 Sep at 10.00AM
  • Fri 22 Sep at 10.00AM
Quay Arts

Box office: 01983 822490

More information (external link)

Sea Street
Newport Harbour
Isle of Wight
PO30 5BD

Share

West Gallery Quay Arts | 29 Jul - 22 Sep 2017

With the title and theme ‘I must down to the seas again’ from John Masefield’s original ‘Sea Fever’ poem*, our biennial OPEN Exhibition presents sea and marine inspired works that reflect our love, fear, and curiosity about the sea. Alongside these contemporary works, selected marine-based works and artefacts from the Isle of Wight Council Heritage Services collection will also be on display revealing a wonderful array of works inspired by the Island’s coastline.

Selected artists are:

Pauline Barnden | Judith Barton | Christie Bird | Annette Bramley | Molly Burnip | Aliceson Carter | Pat Clarke | Edna Coatsworth | Rups Cregeen | Judes Crow & Mary Flynn | Gordon Dalton | Natalie Dowse | Fran Farrar | Mary Flynn | Cathy Golden | Daphne Gradidge | Stephanie Grainger | Helen Grant | Howard Hardiman | Kerrie Hearn | Moira Jarvis | Serena Katt | Richard Mair | Karen Marks | Brian Marriott | Julian Masson | Elaine Mccracken | Sophia Meeres | Ashley Nesbitt | Helen Oishi | Diana Parsons | Susie Pragnell | Kenneth Prust | Deborah Richards | Vanessa Rolf | Angela Sowden | Nina Sverdvik | Martin Swan | Sadie Tierney | Anne Toms | Brenda Ullrich | Caroline Underwood | Jo Vane | Penny Walford | Tony Westmore | Ian Whitmore |Abigail Wheeler | Jill Wilkinson | Darcy Willett | Paul Windridge | Paul Woods | Lynn Young.

A full programme of live events will accompany this exhibition as well as a community response show in the gallery. For full details of whats on, please visit our website.

*‘Sea Fever’ was first published in 1902 in ‘Salt-Water Ballads’ – John Masefield’s first volume of poetry. The text was later changed to the more commonly used “I must go down to the sea again” in 1923.

Gallery opening times: Mon - Sat 10am - 5pm. FREE.

Quay_arts_open_2017_image

Send this page to a friend

Temporarily disabled.

Copy the code below and paste it into your HTML web page.

Spotted something that's not right? Please let us know and we'll get it fixed.